When you delete a file in Windows 11, it will be sent to the Recycle Bin, from where you can restore it if you deleted it by mistake. If you want to delete files permanently, you must empty the Recycle Bin. If you want the Recycle Bin can to be emptied automatically after a certain amount of time. Windows 11 offers the option to turn on the automatic emptying of the Recycle Bin.
Watch our video where we show you how to automatically empty the Recycle Bin in Windows 11.
- How to Automatically Empty the Recycle Bin in Windows 11
- Right-click Start and click on Settings
- Click on Storage
- Click on Storage Sense
- Turn on the option below Automatic User content cleanup
- Open the drop-down list below Run Storage Sense and select Every week
- Open the drop-down list below Delete files in my recycle bin… and choose how long the files will stay in the recycle bin before they are automatically deleted